“Torture”

 a poem about the memories.

Some memories hit

like a soft summer beach wave

slowly allowing me to drift

from what’s in front of me,

back to a time that can only be described

as blissful.

But some thoughts hit

like a sledgehammer

hammering away at the back of my skull,

like a giant weight

pressing down on my chest, aching

for my lungs to gasp for air.

Some memories

are marvelous strings of songs

and moonlight and a morning too cold

beside someone so warm.

Some thoughts

are scratches on a blackboard

reminiscent of pain that made not knowing

a luxury.

Some memories

are intertwined with a person

who has made you feel nothing but love;

Some thoughts

remind you of no one,

some for the one who gave you pain,

and sometimes

they

are the same.

a.d.

One thought on ““Torture”

Leave a comment