“Time”

a poem about running out.

You see.
Life goes on.
And the blackness of the night tucks itself into the bed in the sky,
And the morning is set as a Time on an alarm clock,
Life moves on.
Suddenly, you’re older,
And happier,
And the person you love is right next to you.
And Life is running.
When I was younger,
I saw Time as the enemy.
It seemed I was homesick for a place I wasn’t even sure existed.
One where my heart was full.
And my soul was understood.
I was scared this place was a far off idea.
And Time was going to eat away at my dreams,
Until even Time was a far off idea.
I held on long enough to see,
The future is that place.
If you wait long enough,
Life will present itself as the place full of promise.
Life is full of Time.
Life is going.
Life is moving.
Life is running.
So, is Time.
Run with it.
A.D.

Leave a comment